The Foundation Stage

We follow the Early Years Foundation Stage curriculum and plan topics and areas of learning through children’s interests.

There are seven areas of learning and these are taught primarily through play and first-hand experiences.

There are 3 prime areas:

  • Communication and language
  • Physical development
  • Personal, social and emotional development

There are 4 specific areas:

  • Literacy (Reading, Writing)
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design

The characteristics of effective learning, shown below, run through and underpin all seven areas of learning and development.

  • Playing and exploring: seek challenge, a can do approach to learning and role-play, open-ended activities.
  • Active learning: concentration and involvement, perseverance and proud of what they have achieved.
  • Creating and thinking critically: solving problems and making predictions.

If you would like to find out more about our curriculum or have any queries please contact Mrs C Oxborough, Headteacher, using ourĀ contact details.